18 weeks pregnant

image

Today we are 18 weeks and 1 day pregnant. I feel as if my belly has really grown this week. Everyone at work commented that my belly has now popped out, and I can no longer pull in my abs and look normal. I quickly measured my waist at work on Thursday and I had grown an inch and a half in 4 days!

On Sunday night I woke up in exquisite pain in my right flank. At first I thought I had trapped a nerve as we had finally brought the excersise ball into the living room for me to sit on instead of the sofa, to try and relieve my abdominal cramps. I had been rolling around on it and stretching my spine out, so I thought that maybe I had done myself a mischief.

However, the pain kept pulsing in waves, almost like contractions, and no matter what I did, I couldn’t relieve the pain. It felt like I was being stabbed in the kidney and I was climbing the walls in distress. If it had carried on for more than the 15 mins in lasted, we were going to have to go to A&E. Luckily, the pain subsided and I managed to get back to sleep.

My kidney ached the following day so I decided to get an appointment to see a doctor. Having experienced full blown kidney infections before, I didn’t want to get to that stage again, especially now that my pain relief options are limited. I took along a urine sample and I had 3 out of 3 triggers for a kidney infection. Yay. A week of antibiotics for me.

How pregnant: 18 weeks

How feeling: Generally much better. Apart from the kidney infection, I haven’t been sick since Thursday morning. Wooo!

Any symptoms: A growing bump.

Any cravings: Nope.

Weight gain: 6lbs up from starting weight. No change.

Waist measurement: 30.5″

Bump measurement: 37″

Maternity clothes: Nothing new.

Who knows: Everyone.

Looking forward to: Our 20 week scan in a few weeks.

3 thoughts on “18 weeks pregnant

      1. Yeah we all grow differently – both my bumps weren’t too huge but it was just positioning around 18 weeks or so that made him stick out heaps!

        Like

Leave a Reply

