27 weeks pregnant

Today we are 27 weeks and 1 day pregnant. 

Not a lot has happened in pregger land this week. There have been no appointments or scans, and no more exciting deliveries. The cub has been incredibly active this week, constantly wriggling and kicking and flipping and turning. It is such a lovely feeling.

The morning vomit sessions have plagued me a few times in the last week. Not fun. I can’t wait until vomiting returns to a very occasional event. 

There is confusion as to when the 3rd trimester of pregnancy begins. Everything I read has a differing opinion, ranging from 25 weeks, up to 30 weeks. The general agreement however, seems to be at about 27-28 weeks. At week 27 our little cub has an 85% chance of survival if it should make an unexpected early arrival.

I mentioned in my last post that I was looking forward to going on maternity leave at the start of September. Unfortunately, my work is going through a very turbulent time and I am not convinced it will be able to continue for much longer. Although I have qualified for Statutory Maternity Allowance (the 1st 6 weeks at 90% pay and then £139 per week for 32 weeks), if my company goes into administration or receivership, I will not receive it. I will be able to claim Maternity Allowance from the government, which is also £139 per week, but I will miss out on the first 6 weeks at 90% pay. I have put in a request with work to go on maternity leave a month earlier, which will hopefully allow me to receive what I am entitled to before the business implodes. I will miss out on a month of wages, but I will hopefully get the 6 weeks 90%…. Eugh, it is a confusing gamble. I don’t need this stress.

How pregnant: 27 weeks.

How feeling: Good. I’m starting to feel tired again now though. The cub is getting heavier and my muscles are aching by the end of the day. 

Any symptoms: Puking and tiredness.

Any cravings: Mango chutney… Mmmmm.

Weight gain: Up 2lb on last week. 13lbs up from starting weight.

Waist measurement: 33.4″

Bump measurement: 37.5″

Maternity clothes: A lot of my pre pregnancy clothes are getting a bit snug now. I might need to get a few more tops to get me through the last few months.

Who knows: Everyone.

Looking forward to: Blood tests next Friday to check that everything is ok. I luckily don’t need to do the ‘Lucozade’ test for gestational diabetes as I have no family history of it, no cultural triggers or high BMI. 

3 thoughts on “27 weeks pregnant

  1. Looking proper preggers here scrifts! Sorry to hear work isn’t great, job issues really aren’t what you need to be worrying about right now! Look after yourself xx

    Like

Leave a Reply

