35 Weeks Pregnant

Today we are 35 weeks and 2 days pregnant.

In my last post, I wrote about a rash that appeared on my belly. A few hours after posting that, the rash got considerably worse, so I decided to call NHS direct to see what they thought. They went through their list of questions… ‘Does it cover your entire bump? Does it look like you have been scalded? Does it itch?’ Having answered yes to all of the above, the lady said that I needed to be seen within the next 6 hours and that I would get a call back within an hour. This was at 9pm and I received a call back within 15 minutes with an appointment at 10.15pm at the local out of hours hospital centre. We arrived at 10pm and got seen straight away. The doctor checked my BP and urine and did a visual check of the rash, and he wasn’t overly concerned. He said to just keep an eye on it and if it was still there 24hrs later to get a blood test done. We were home and in bed by 10.30pm. What a wonderful service the NHS is! 

Luckily the rash eased off overnight and has now gone completely. Hopefully it was just a heat related thing, but I am glad we got it checked out.

Over the last few weeks I have been finalising my birth preferences. Our NCT teacher recommended that we print it 3 times (one for the maternity notes, one for my OH to carry and a spare for the hospital bag) on bright coloured paper so that it won’t be ignored. It reads as follows:

  • WATER BIRTH PLEASE
  • OH to be my birth partner.
  • Dim lighting.
  • Active labour – please allow me to move around and change position as desired.
  • Labour to be as natural as possible. Breathing, massage and visualisation to be used.
  • Internal examinations to be performed only when necessary – minimal time on my back.
  • Monitoring of baby only when necessary. 
  • DO NOT OFFER ME PAIN RELIEF – I WILL ASK FOR IT IF I NEED IT.
  • Minimal intervention.
  • Student midwife OK.
  • Allow maximum time for the perineum to expand.
  • Support the perineum during crowning with a warm compress if out of water.
  • Avoid episiotomy if possible – allow natural stretching and tearing preferable.
  • OH TO ANNOUNCE THE GENDER.
  • Delayed cord clamping.
  • Skin to skin contact straight after birth.
  • Natural 3rd stage if possible.
  • OH TO CUT THE CORD.
  • Breastfeeding to occur as soon as possible after birth.
  • Vitamin K injection for the baby.

IN THE EVENT OF AN EMERGENCY CAESAREAN:

  • Lower the screen to allow us to see our baby being born.
  • OH to cut the cord.
  • OH to announce the gender.
  • Skin to skin as soon as possible after birth.

We are under no illusions that things will go to completely to plan as things change all the time. However, if we don’t write down our preferences, we might not get any of them. 

How pregnant: 35 weeks.

How feeling: Struggling to sleep as my hips are hurning at night. I am sleeping on the floor on the sofa cushions now as they are much softer. The midwife said that the head is now engaged so that might be putting pressure on my pelvis. 

Any symptoms: The cub’s movements are getting so big they are almost painful now. I feel like my belly is at capacity! 

Any cravings: Still everything terrible for me.

Weight gain: Up 1 stone 6lbs from start weight.

Waist measurement: 36.5″.

Bump measurement: 40″.

Belly button: Outie. Still no stretchmarks…

Looking forward to: The BBQ this weekend. It will be fantastic to have everyone we love in the same place at the same time! 

Leave a Reply

